Chiropractic and Personal Activity 2009

December 17, 2009

A One-Year Review

What began as an icy, storming 2009
turned into one of the most beautiful
autumns I have ever seen in Oregon.
Electricity at my house was gone for six
days, including Christmas day. I am more
thankful for things that go unseen.

PERSONALLY: I slipped and fell on the ice
last winter (remember the ice, which was
really 2008), and aggravated my fractured
back from eight months prior. We did our
magic at the clinic and I didn’t miss a
beat; thankful for that, it could’ve been
so much worse.

Our Siamese cat of about 14 years had
always been a feisty feline. She would
bite sometimes when petted, and usually
darted away when she was approached.
Every spring she would drop some animal,
usually a mole, off at the front door or
at some other place for us to see. In the
past 4 months she acted very clingy and
had other strange behavior that was not
like herself. I told my wife that she
wasn’t going to be around much longer.
About three weeks ago she went off to
die. I tried looking for her around the
place but had a feeling she went deep
under brush and laid herself to rest.
Life around here won’t be the same but as
one part ends, another begins…

POLITICALLY: After 20 years of having two
state chiropractic associations, both
merged. I was asked to be on the newly
merged state association board and have
now served my first year term.
Politics nationally: The health politics
has been more chaotic than ever. One
topic has been the Swine Flu/media blitz.
Like I said about the Avian Bird Flu
three years ago (do you remember?): “here
we go again, an invented disease to sell
a drug — Tamiflu, in this case.” No,
actually in both cases. I wonder what
megalo-company was behind that and what
politicians are on their board. Expect
two things: 1) “Swine flu” will go away
quietly and won’t be back, and 2) Another
“scary disease” will show up within two
years; in the fall, to be specific.
The other political health topic is
National Health Care. All I can say is
you can’t mandate health. Health care is
a personal responsibility.

MOTORCYCLING: I took four cycle rides,
that meant anything. Two rides were with
my regular chiropractor buddies and we
covered the state — the best. The ride
with the Harley dudes was hilarious and
left an indelible impression about what
it takes to be a Harley rider — I ain’t
got it. The most insane ride was when I
was riding alone, out in the middle of
nowhere central Oregon, on a dirt rode,
down into a canyon. I learned a lot about
myself out there and realized, yes, there
is a God who I promised I’d do anything
if I came out alive (I don’t recall what
exactly I promised). I might still be
there under my bike, with a broken leg,
eating worms, and fending off wild
animals. I won’t be doing that again.

CLINICALLY:
I did close to 100 hours of continuing
education (only need 20). This past year
I have been exposed to more exciting
FUNCTIONAL clinical protocols than I have
in the past 10 years combined. By
functional, I mean finding out how the
body is not working and assisting it
toward healing rather than letting a
disease process begin.
This year we added:
• Neurological Testing and Brain-
Based Treatments
• Concentrated Oxygen Therapy
• Glutathione Therapy
I will explain each of these incredible
procedures to you very soon. These will
help people with Chronic Fatigue,
Fibromyalgia, Dizziness, Chronic Pain…

Leave a comment